ARTWORKS exhibition 2017: Meet the Artists – Daily presentations

The popular ‘Meet the Artist’ series of presentations return to Artworks in 2017. A different artist sets up a mini art studio each day, ready to talk about their work or demonstrate creative art techniques. Other artists will be working at the sales desk or in the Artworks’ café, so there are numerous opportunities to meet some of the artists on any day during the Artworks exhibition.

Below is the MTA schedule to help you plan your visit to Artworks. Pop in any time between 10.30am and 4.30pm as the art presentations are informal – there is no need to book.

Saturday 9 September 2017
Alison Jones: A brush with flowers in watercolour

Sunday 10 September 2017
Alfie Carpenter: Interpreting the land in mixed media


Moonlit reeds

Monday 11 September 2017
Roger Gamble: Artful Acrylics!

Tuesday 12 September 2017
Kit Price Moss: Printmaking: puffins to penguins

Wednesday 13 September 2017
Nora Gaston: Foraging the waves: working through ideas

Thursday 14 September 2017
Val Armstrong: Letting go of realism – building mixed media backgrounds for abstracts

Friday 15 September 2017
Christine McKechnie: Watercolour painted paper collage

Autumn leaves by Christine McKechnie

Saturday 16 September 2017
Julia Groves: Botanical Art / Drawing techniques


Chandos Beauty by Julia Groves

Sunday 17 September 2017
Roger Gamble: Artful Acrylics!

Breckland Trail

Breckland Trail by Roger Gamble

Monday 18 September 2017
Cathy D’Arcy: Making happy faces in clay

Tuesday 19 September 2017
Helen Dougall: Batik: wax resist dyeing on cloth

Wednesday 20 September 2017
Sue Caddy: Seeds and ceramics


Bowl of Earthy Delights

Thursday 21 September 2017
Gillian Crossley-Holland: Oil pastels: A joy to use


Sea study, Scolt Head, August afternoon after rain

Friday 22 September 2017
Lyn Aylward: Painting portraits in oils


Fly Past by Lyn Aylward

Saturday 23 September 2017
Gainsborough’s House Workshop: portfolio presentation showing a variety of printmaking techniques

Sunday 24 September 2017
Chris Hann: Unsighted drawing


Mousehole 4

Monday 25 September 2017
Katie Millard: Watercolour landscapes without a pencil

Tuesday 26 September 2017
Kate Reynolds: Figures in movement

artworks shop

Wednesday 27 September 2017
Alison Jones: A brush with flowers in watercolour

Magnolia by Alison Jones

Thursday 28 September 2017
Val Armstrong: Simple monoprinting using a gelli plate



Friday 29 September 2017
Nicola Coe: Polaroid as art



Saturday 30 September 2017
Hazel Bradshaw: Creating impractical pots

Sunday 1 October 2017
Ruth McCabe: Working loosely with watercolour

Follow us on Twitter @ARTWORKS_east for exhibition updates.

ARTWORKS 18th Annual Exhibition

Saturday 9th September to Sunday 1st October 2017
Blackthorpe Barn, Rougham
Bury St Edmunds
IP30 9HZ

Exhibition open daily 10am to 5pm, free entry, complimentary full-colour catalogue, free parking, barn complex is on ground level with easy access. All work in the exhibition is for sale. Relax in the Artworks Café or browse the Artworks Shop for an extensive range of art cards and a range of smaller artworks to buy and take away.